Photo by Melody
It's time now to VOTE in our 14th annual photo contest! Voting ends November 7, so be sure to cast your votes for your favorites in each category here. Good luck to all contestants!

Begonias: "Sinbad", "Lady Brown" and "Emerald Glow"

Communities > Forums > Begonias
bookmark
Forum: BegoniasReplies: 15, Views: 150
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
Shifty
Rochester, NY
(Zone 5b)

January 17, 2011
11:22 AM

Post #8315453

Hi everyone, I am fairly new to begonias, but brand new to posting on DG. I tried to do this a few minutes ago and something happened so here goes again. I have had trouble with the three in the subject line and am wondering if anyone is growing them successfully and if so what is working for you. Sinbad looked beautiful until I had to bring it inside. Then PM struck and it was all downhill from there. Since reading some of these forums I have read a bit about Milstop. (I googled it and the company that makes it is right up the street from my office). I am definitely trying some of that, although I do wish it came in a smaller quantity.
Last year I ordered "Lady Brown" and "Emerald Glow" from Kartuz and they are still alive but barely. It is my 3rd "Lady Brown". First one died, they replaced it but shipped the replacement during the hottest week last summer and for some reason it took 6 days to get here. Needless to say, it was in tough shape. Ordered again and it came in good shape but was very tall. It is under lights, with a humidity tent over the stand. Once, I let it get a little too dry and it looked a little wilted and that was it. The few leaves it has are now yellowed but it put out small flowers. "Emerald Glow" is in the same stand and just looks pathetic, very few leaves. They are both potted in a peat/perlite mix and I water when dry. I really like the two from Kartuz and would like to figure out what I am doing wrong. Thanks for any help.
dbsmith2
Amsterdam, NY
(Zone 5a)

January 17, 2011
1:46 PM

Post #8315670