Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
bigoldbuck701
Williston, ND

January 19, 2011
5:58 AM

Post #8318565

Friend of mine told me about these and said i should get them,does anyone have them,i have several streps i can trade for or lots of cutttig of gesneriad,im just starting out in begonias so im a newbie and dont have trade material of begonias

thanks

JIM
hcmcdole
Powder Springs, GA
(Zone 7b)

January 20, 2011
2:21 PM

Post #8321025

JIM,

They are a bit fussy to grow at times and harder than most begonias to propagate. Maybe someone can trade with you.

Try the following sites:

http://www.mountainorchids.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=197&cPath=15

eBay

[HYPERLINK@www.violetbarn.com]

http://www.taylorgreenhouses.com/begonia-green-jewel.html

If you ever get a chance to go to PHOE then you will see how to grow them like weeds.

Thumbnail by hcmcdole
Click the image for an enlarged view.

dbsmith2
Amsterdam, NY
(Zone 5a)

January 20, 2011
7:07 PM

Post #8321504

Butch-
I'm throwing away silver and emerald after looking at that picture. Mine have a few snotty leaves after 1 year of being treated like royalty. What is PHOE doing? Besides being in Florida...
hcmcdole
Powder Springs, GA
(Zone 7b)

January 21, 2011
3:50 AM

Post #8321766

That's the key db. It is deep south Florida and they have a lot of their greenhouses carpeted with Jewels under the benches. Don't throw away your Jewels, pick off the worst leaves, keep watered, and they should be okay. My imperialis has no cover this year and is doing pretty good (a few older leaves are dried at the edges which makes it ratty looking) but I do have Green, Brown, and Silver Jewels all under some kind of cover. My Brown Jewel hasn't grown much at all in two years though.

Here is Silver Jewel that I grow under a large cake dome (the large cakes I get at Sam's Club always have the prize after the cake is gone - a perfect terrarium for smaller plants or at least a cover for an ice bucket) 3 days ago.