Photo by Melody

Agastaches and Salvias: Which Salvias should I winter sow?

Communities > Forums > Agastaches and Salvias
bookmark
Forum: Agastaches and SalviasReplies: 35, Views: 331
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent

RickCorey_WA

RickCorey_WA
Everett, WA
(Zone 8a)

February 3, 2011
5:31 PM

Post #8352127

Which Salvias should I winter sow? Are any of the ten listed below terrible ideas to start outside in Zone 8a ... maybe bring them up onto the porch when we get hard frosts?

What should I use as guidance for chgoosing WS varieties? Something like "if perennial & hardy to your Zone minus 2"?

Or which Salvias do you sow outside, as opposed to inside, when starting from seed?

I'm new to Salvia, except for killing all the Salvia seeds I started indoors a few years ago (soggy soil, in front of a window with temperatures cycling between 75+ and 55 - I keep the house cold and have not yet bought a heating pad.)

I was thinking maybe try these 10 outside,
winter sowing on top of very well-draining mix with shredded pine bark,
maybe dust just a little vermiculite or grit on top:

Salvia superba "Violet Queen" [P 7a-11] from Hazzards
Salvia x superba (var unknown) [P 5a-10b]
Salvia farinacea "Strata" Dark Blue/Blue-Violet [A] [P z7]
Salvia farinacea "Victoria Blue" [?P 7b-11 as A? good in PNW?]
Salvia transylvanica "Blue Spires" [P 4a - 8b] from Hazzards
Salvia nemerosasylvestris "Amethyst Blue" [P] from Hazzards
Salvia (sylvestris or nemorosa ?) collected from "East Friesland" [P 3a-8b]
Salvia coccinea 'Forest Fire' - Texas Sage - [P Z 8a ] great color and form
. . . is "Forest Fire" the same cultivar as "Bonfire"?
Salvia coccinea 'Coral Nymph' [A, but maybe P]
Salvia splendens "Yvonne's Giant " red-orange [A / P?]
Salvia lyrata "Purple Vulcan" [P 4a-11]

Any advice for a newbie?

Edited to say:
now I see I should also WS these Lobelia:
Lobelia cardinalis "Cardinal Flower" red, erect
Lobelia cardinalis "Giant Blue" blue, erect
Lobelia siphilitica erect, tall, boggy