Photo by Melody

Winter Sowing: Hi! New to winter sowing, just need reassurance!

Communities > Forums > Winter Sowing
bookmark
Forum: Winter SowingReplies: 40, Views: 310
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
penelope742
Takoma Park, MD

February 12, 2011
7:27 PM

Post #8369071

Hello everyone, I'm new to Dave's Garden and also to winter sowing. I just wanted to check with some more experienced winter sowers before putting my seeds outside! So today I:
filled my cut on 3 sides water gallon containers with 3 to 4" of pro mix that I wet before use. The water gallons have the small round top removed.
I cut holes in the bottoms for drainage. (Before I cut the 3 sides, or added soil!)
I labed, inside and out.
I placed seeds according to directions... covered lightly, pressed into soil, etc.
I am planning on taping them shut as soon as I get my duct tape! (tomm. am., I forgot the duct tape.)
I am in zone 7b, just outside of DC.
Seeds I've started so far:
Poppy Heirloom
Echinacea... Purple Coneflower
Echinacea Pow Wow Wildberry
Echinacea White Swan
Echinacea. Prarie Splendor
California Poppy, White
English daisy, Habanera Mix
Columbine, Origami Pink and White
Ca. Poppy Milk Maid Thai Silk
Verbena hastata
Aquilegia Dorthy Rose
Aquilegia Winky Double Rose and White

I"m not sure if it's too late or not for some of these. It seems like you winter sowers with experience know when to put out what seeds.

I'd like to winter sow:
French or Butterfly Lavender
Lupin, Dwarf Fairy Pink
Lupin Russell Noble Maid White
Garland Daisy Seeds... Chysanthemum coronarium
MilkMaid Butterfly Weed
Silky Gold Butterfly Weed
Hollyhock, Halo White
Verbena bonariensis
I'm not 100% sure if I should start these now?
Thanks!
Aimee

Thumbnail by penelope742
Click the image for an enlarged view.

penelope742
Takoma Park, MD

February 12, 2011
7:37 PM

Post #8369092

I have some more tender seeds, that I think I will sow in the milk gallons in March? Anyone got a recommendation?
Anise