Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
roseycats
Dayton, OH

February 16, 2011
3:30 PM

Post #8375821

Some garden place sent some Cosmo's flower seeds, well I don't the first thing about Cosmo's. Can someone help.
Dogs_N_Petunias
Cleburne, TX
(Zone 8a)

February 17, 2011
5:06 AM

Post #8376586

I have had no previous experience with Cosmos but recently started a packet of seed under lights on my PVC lightstand. They germinated almost instantly. Were up and growing within 3 days. But they are the tallest, spindliest little plant I've ever seen, especially since they are only beginning to form their first set of leaves. They are under the same light as my tomatoes and other flowers but I had to keep moving the Cosmos because they grew so fast they would be touching the fluorescent bulb. I don't know if this is the usual growth pattern for Cosmos or not but they sure took off in a hurry !!
roseycats
Dayton, OH

February 17, 2011
7:47 AM

Post #8376872

I can't grow seeds inside anymore, due to the cats and lack of space.
Kat_M
Merced, CA
(Zone 9a)

February 17, 2011
8:29 AM

Post #8376977

I'm no expert, but I've grown a lot of Cosmos and have found that they do germinate and grow very quickly, and they will self seed if allowed. Mine are definitely a full sun lovers, so yours may not be getting enough light with grow lights. I generally begin to pinch mine back as soon as they have their second set of true leaves, and they seem to branch out nicely. I give them just a small bit of diluted fertilizer once week after they've gotten several leaves. Their height will depend on cultivar, also. You can get Cosmos that grow anywhere from one to four feet tall. Hope this helps!

Kat
roseycats
Dayton, OH

February 17, 2011
2:36 PM

Post #8377656

My cosmo seeds are still in the packet until warmer weather. Are these Annuals?

This message was edited Feb 24, 2011 6:32 PM
Kat_M
Merced, CA
(Zone 9a)

February 27, 2011
8:00 AM

Post #8395318

Yes, roseycats, they are annuals.
roseycats