Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Seed Germination: Brand new to seeding but not sure?

Communities > Forums > Seed Germination
bookmark
Forum: Seed GerminationReplies: 15, Views: 256
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
Thlorian
Richmond, TX

February 17, 2011
6:42 PM

Post #8378078

I am brand new to gardening and want to know if it is financially worth the work put in to learn to seed rather than pay $6-$7 per plant or flower to fill some beds. I need lots of help please so any and all replies will be greatly appreciated. I live 25 miles sw of Houston, Texas so the heat is the worse come late July, August, and early September. I live in Zone 8B and wish to learn to start some flowers and plants from seed (perennials only please). My purpose is to (1) Enjoy what I do in the hobby and (2) Have fresh cut flowers on the table every few weeks or so. I am saving egg cartons, small containers, etc, right now to place seeds in. Other than that I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT I AM DOING!!! Do I place them by a window after I plant the seeds (even though all my windows don't have direct sunlight shining straight thru? Do I buy a special light to place over them? Is there a kit to use (I saw a couple at Home Depot for about $7 and $20 respectively but wasn't sure about buying them). Then what seeds should I choose for my area? What about wildflowers? How long do they need to be in the dirt if I start them next weekend (Feb 26th)? How will I know when they are ready and will they be too small for the beds? And most importantly, will this method really save me major $$$$ (at least 50%) over buying flowers/plants at say an average price of $6-$7 each?

Thanks!!!!

blomma

blomma
Wyoming, WY
(Zone 4a)

February 17, 2011
8:17 PM

Post #8378260