Photo by Melody

Winter Sowing: WS Questions or Stop me before I do something really wrong:)

Communities > Forums > Winter Sowing
bookmark
Forum: Winter SowingReplies: 12, Views: 297
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
Marlene4
Silver Spring, MD
(Zone 7a)

February 22, 2011
2:08 PM

Post #8386890

Greetings,

I've never tried WSing before, but when I saw Critter's article I knew it was the right answer for me.
I shot off a quick email (thanks so much for getting back with me Critter) before I'd read through the posts sufficiently. I got up this morning so excited and happy to begin. After a few interruptions; and a more thorough reading of the threads its now almost 5:00 and I haven't even started yet.
Before I begin, I had a few questions I hoped folks could help me out with.

First, I've noticed the discussion about soil. Looks like soil may have been my first mistake.
I purchased a large bag of Miracle Grow Organic Mix. Looks like folks don't particularly care for this mix. Should I invest the time/money to purchase one of the better mixes?

Second. I noticed a reference to H202 is this the water with peroxide mixture I saw mentioned or something else?

Also, I've got picky neighbors and milk jugs and other assorted vessels won't fly in my neighborhood:( My idea was to use my four inch plastic pots and place my pots on the seed starting thingie (pictured here). I bought it at a really good sale!!
It comes with a plastic covering that I thought would do well to protect the seeds from wind/birds, etc.,

Lastly, I'm trying to figure out how to keep these guys watered.
Any Suggestions?
OK, PLEASE intervene before I make a costly boo-boo.
Cheers!!
and Thanks:)

Thumbnail by Marlene4
Click the image for an enlarged view.

CapeCodGardener
Mid-Cape, MA
(Zone 7a)

February 25, 2011
1:53 PM

Post #8392527

Hi Marlene,
I can comment on a few of your questions: