Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Poultry and Livestock: Feeding chickens to get omega 3 rich eggs

Communities > Forums > Poultry and Livestock
bookmark
Forum: Poultry and LivestockReplies: 56, Views: 299
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
guavagirl
Kahaluʻu, HI
(Zone 11)

February 26, 2011
11:10 PM

Post #8394923

Hi,
I'm new to chickens but am looking forward to 3 speckled sussex chicks coming next month. I'm building an ark (movable coop) so they can forage when they are old enough. What can I do to help them have omega 3 rich eggs?
Any advice about feeding them their own egg shells?
When do I stop feeding them chick crumbles and advance their diet?
So much to learn.
Thanks all
porkpal
Richmond, TX

February 27, 2011
6:27 AM

Post #8395186

Pastured chickens lay eggs with higher omega 3. I feed them their own shells - cooked and crushed. Feed the chick crumbles until they are starting to lay. The feed bags usually have age recommendations on them. Welcome to the world of chickens!
Haystack
Ferndale, WA

February 27, 2011
8:17 AM

Post #8395342

I feed them layer crumbles from birth to death. I know some would argue with that but it has always worked well for me. I have a four old hen that still lays five eggs every week. I like to experiment and see what works best for me and that is what I go with...Haystack
guavagirl
Kahaluʻu, HI
(Zone 11)

February 27, 2011
1:39 PM

Post #8395888

Thanks for the information.
When do I start feeding them the crushed egg shells? When they start laying or before?
Haystack
Ferndale, WA

February 27, 2011
1:55 PM

Post #8395928