Photo by Melody

Seed Germination: Pinch Russian Sage Seedlings ?

Communities > Forums > Seed Germination
bookmark
Forum: Seed GerminationReplies: 13, Views: 106
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
DeeS
Ladoga, IN
(Zone 6a)

March 6, 2011
7:17 AM

Post #8409872

My Russian sage seedlings are really taking off. Would it be ok to pinch them to promote bushiness? I have been growing from seed for years, but this is my first time trying Russian sage.

Dee

Thumbnail by DeeS
Click the image for an enlarged view.

oriole
Mifflintown, PA
(Zone 6a)

March 7, 2011
11:28 AM

Post #8412308

Cant answer your ?. Just want to tell you nice looking plants.

Dixie
DeeS
Ladoga, IN
(Zone 6a)

March 7, 2011
8:42 PM

Post #8413576

Thanks, Dixie. I guess I will just let them grow a while. Maybe they will just naturally bush out, like the lavender seedlings are doing.I haven't been able to find a thing about pinching them, on line.
Dee
KaylyRed
Watertown, WI
(Zone 5a)

March 7, 2011
10:15 PM

Post #8413671

My instinctive guess would be yes, since you prune Russian sage in the spring to encourage branching and keep the plant tidy rather than floppy. But that's just a guess. I've never raised it from a seedling. You could try what I usually do--pinch one seedling and wait to see what happens. If it branches nicely (it usually doesn't take long before the results show up), go ahead and pinch the rest.

This message was edited Mar 8, 2011 12:16 AM
Debsroots
Northwest, MO
(Zone 5a)

March 9, 2011
4:54 AM

Post #8415945

Nice looking seedlings; they look so stocky. Do you keep them under lights?

blomma

blomma
Casper, WY
(Zone 4a)

March 9, 2011
6:39 AM

Post #8416130

I would pinch them at size 4" since you want the branches to develop at the bottom.

I prune back my established plants to the grund every season. They are purchased not sown.

My daughter keep telling me to start them from seeds. I am not new to seeding but never tried these. How did you get them to germinate?
DeeS
Ladoga, IN