Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Beginner Vegetables: Heating pad to germinate seeds

Communities > Forums > Beginner Vegetables
bookmark
Forum: Beginner VegetablesReplies: 14, Views: 188
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
anndev
Kensington, CT

March 16, 2011
9:55 AM

Post #8430370

Hi all! Im a newbie here! I am a novice gardener and live in CT. I have container gardened in the past and last year my elderly neighbor let me use part of his gigantic garden so I could get a feel of in-ground gardening. I did fairly well!

I have my own in-ground garden this year (YAY!!) so Im pretty excited! I've definatley gotten the spring itch!

I started my pepper and tomato seeds this past saturday in mini cells using Jiffy seed starting mix. I put them near my window but its been cold and rainy here in CT. I dont want my seeds to rot, so yesterday I put them on an old heating pad on low.

Question: Do I keep this heating pad on all day and night until I get germination?

Thanks everyone!
ladygardener1
Near Lake Erie, NW, PA
(Zone 5a)

March 16, 2011
12:19 PM

Post #8430681

anndev, Heating pads can be dangerous. Invest in a seed heat mat. You may be able to pick one up at your local garden center.
Until then place the seeds in a warmer place in you home.
The other thing is the light source should be about 1 inch above the plants as they grow, putting them in the window will cause them to stretch and grow weak stems. If you have a shop light these work well, no need to buy a special grow light. Hang the light on chains so you can raise the light up as they grow.
Wishing you success, it is a learning process but very rewarding. You will get hooked !

I have 2 PVC stands set up in my basement, been doing my own seeds for years.

Thumbnail by ladygardener1