Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
laulow
Antioch, TN

March 27, 2011
1:42 PM

Post #8453776

I have a question regarding Bamboo being used for ground cover and/or grass for the entire yard. I am new to Bamboo and did stop by a local nursery about a year ago but got caught in a rainstorm so didn't get a lot of questions answered. My husband and I live in Nashville, TN and are looking to try to get our yard looking nice. I had $3,000 worth of work done to it a few years ago and then we fell under a severe drought and lost just about everything. We do have 2 large Standard Poodles that like to run around the yard as well and there is an area under a tree that does not grow much grass due to the shade but the roots from the tree are coming up. My thought was to put some Distichus down in the shaded area as the lady at the bamboo nursery said it should grow quite well. My thought is how would an entire lawn look in a low growing bamboo and if it would look nice which would be the one to grow? That one little area is the only place that has really any type of shade. I assume we would have to contain it somehow from going into the neighbors yard with a trench or something. I saw a picture of a home with a yard in bamboo and it look very nice.

My next question would be, if it is possible and it would be a nice looking yard that would hold up to the dogs how would you plant it? Would you plant it in the grass that is already there and just let it take it over? How many plants would you need per square foot (or how ever it is measured)? I have tried everything to stand up to the dogs and not much does, nothing grows in that shaded area and I hate to spend anymore money on something that is going to be wasted.

Any and all suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Laurie

palmbob

palmbob
Acton, CA
(Zone 8b)

March 27, 2011
9:37 PM

Post #8454845