Photo by Melody

Geraniums, Pelargoniums and Erodiums: Scale on my potted geraniums. Is systemic insecticide safe?

Communities > Forums > Geraniums, Pelargoniums and Erodiums
bookmark
Forum: Geraniums, Pelargoniums and ErodiumsReplies: 3, Views: 122
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
pekenpom
Ames, IA
(Zone 5a)

March 27, 2011
9:02 PM

Post #8454813

Hello, I have several lovely perennial geraniums...pelargoniums correctly, I guess? Anyhow, I've discovered scale on two of them. (Unfortunately I think I introduced it on a new Crassula.) Can I use a systemic insecticide safely on geraniums? Spraying along just isn't getting the job done.
Any help would be appreciated. I'm a real novice at this.
Thanks so much,
Pekenpom

Thumbnail by pekenpom
Click the image for an enlarged view.

LoveForests

LoveForests
FU
United States
(Zone 9b)

July 16, 2011
9:41 PM

Post #8696909

Kinda sad no one answered this for her.

Have you tried mixing 1/2 teaspoon of 'Dawn dish washing liquid' to 1 gallon of water and then spraying it on the plants? (It takes a long time to tell if scale has died or not. After about a month after spraying them, spray your plants that have scale with your hose, (away from where your plants normally stay).
If that doesn't work try using 'Bayer Advanced', it's a liquid that gets put into the soil near your plants.

Of course I'm sure I'll get yelled at by the 'super plant pros' out there.

Anways, have a nice summer everyone :]
luciee
Hanceville, AL
(Zone 7a)

September 30, 2012
11:28 AM

Post #9291050