Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Seed Germination: I'm curious- pros & cons of plastic vs. peat

Communities > Forums > Seed Germination
bookmark
Forum: Seed GerminationReplies: 32, Views: 211
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
cornish2175
Charleston, SC
(Zone 8b)

March 30, 2011
4:51 AM

Post #8459871

I am a newbie to DG and to "mass" seed starting. I never put in a great amount of annuals in past, couldn't justify the cost- but am now "retired" so have more time ha ha. DH built me a light stand for my birthday- I like practical things. I bought jiffy greenhouse trays the 50 count ones, not pellets (hate those). Anyway,see lots of posts where plastic 6 packs or cups are used. Is this for the economical aspect or are these better? With the peat trays I bottom water, peat is wet but soil seems perfect. No damping off yet & I have 400 little cubes planted. Compared with pre-grown annuals I don't find the peat expensive-- I do always tear of the peat before planting-I've seen them become root coffins. Tell me your opinions please

greenhouse_gal

greenhouse_gal
Southern NJ
United States
(Zone 7a)

March 30, 2011
5:08 AM

Post #8459905

I use plastic four- or six-packs to start some seeds, or for transplants when they are getting too big for their styrofoam cells ( la the Gardener's Supply setup). I have low plastic trays that I bought for this purpose, and I set the four- or six-packs into them and keep water in the bottom. The packs have slits in them so the soil wicks up the water and keeps them moist. Once the season gets going I usually have several of those trays full of seedlings in packs, waiting for the weather and their own maturity to allow me to plant them in the garden.
Pfg
(Pam) Warren, CT
(Zone 5b)

March 30, 2011
5:35 AM