Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
SabrinaW
Peoria, AZ

April 10, 2011
3:54 PM

Post #8485730

This is my very first time attempting to garden and I now have the feeling I'm not going to do well. I'm going to give it one more try though and if anyone can offer any advise to me I would be so happy.
I started with a Jiffy Professional Greenhouse and followed the instructions to the "T" with beautiful resulst in just a few days. But then after about 2 weeks I started to see small white fuzzy weblike groths. I removed the lid because the seedlings were starting to push it up and with in a week everything was DEAD (see picutre).
If there is anyone who can help me understand what I did wrong and what I can do to avoide this happening again that would be great. I'm going to restart a new tray today so, please, bring on the suggestions!

Thumbnail by SabrinaW
Click the image for an enlarged view.

bookreader451
Troy, NY
(Zone 5b)

April 11, 2011
3:46 AM

Post #8486778

You needed to remove the lid after they first germinated then get them under lights. They stay to humid with the plastic on.
Pfg
(Pam) Warren, CT
(Zone 5b)

April 11, 2011
4:28 AM

Post #8486817

It helps to water with a diluted solution of hydrogen peroxide. The website that explains this is

http://www.using-hydrogen-peroxide.com/peroxide-garden.html

I have had no damping off since I started using it for all watering, even the initial wetting of the soil. Also as book reader said, the cover comes off as soon as most cells show germination.

Try again, don't give up! There's lots of good info on these forums and many people are glad to help.

Pam
rentman
Frankfort, KY
(Zone 6a)

April 11, 2011
4:39 AM

Post #8486829

I hate those Jiffy planters.
I also use the hydrogen peroxide, from the drug store, diluted about 1/2 cap full to a quart sprayer, you don't need much. I would also spray the cover with the diluted H2O2.

Dwight
huggergirl
Columbia City, IN
(Zone 5b)

April 14, 2011
5:05 AM

Post #8494547