-
AuthorContent
Rickf44
Rogue River , OR
(Zone 8a)

April 12, 2011
4:17 PM

Post #8491057

Here in Southern Oregon this am it was 25 and the Hostas, are just breaking the ground. What and when do I feed my Hostas?
KaylyRed
Watertown, WI
(Zone 5a)

April 12, 2011
4:30 PM

Post #8491091

Hi, Rick. I know you'll get some varied answers on this, and I'm no expert, but I'll tell you what I do--I give my hostas a nice top-dressing of compost in the spring just as the leaves are unfurling. Anything you can do that will promote good drainage and add organic matter to your soil is a win. Well-aged and dried manure is good, too. Some folks also swear by cotton bur compost, which I haven't tried yet but might this year. I've heard it can be smelly, but I don't have any firsthand experience.

After the hostas unfurl, occasionally I hit the foliage with an organic spray-on like fish emulsion. I haven't seen any noticeably positive results from doing this, though. The hostas grow fine with or without the extra boost. In my opinion, treating the soil is better than treating the leaves any day. :)

LeawoodGardener

LeawoodGardener
Leawood, KS
(Zone 5b)

April 13, 2011
6:20 PM

Post #8493890

When I planted my hostas in this bed, I mixed in composted horse manure to loosen the soil. Each spring I put a cup of Milorganite on each plant as the shoots are just emerging (early April, here in Zone 5b)

Thumbnail by LeawoodGardener
Click the image for an enlarged view.

bellieg
Virginia Beach, VA

April 14, 2011
3:23 PM

Post #8495810

i have over 5oo+ hosta in pots and repotted all of them few weeks ago, I added good potting soil and compost. I used 2 bags of 10-10-10. approximately 2 tbsp of it.
Good luck. Bellie

postmandug

postmandug
Bardstown, KY
(Zone 6a)

April 14, 2011
5:43 PM

Post #8496092

I NEVER fertilize mine and they do great anyway, but as KaylyRed says I did amend the soil with a lot of organics years ago when planting them.

Doug
pirl
(Arlene) Southold, NY
(Zone 7a)