Thumbnail by HoneybeeNC
Click the image for an enlarged view.

JohnCrichton75
League City, TX
(Zone 9a)

April 13, 2011
1:05 PM

Post #8493126

Awesome, HoneyBee. You are getting a lot out of that bed and it looks like it is a good size bed, too.

HoneybeeNC

HoneybeeNC
Charlotte, NC
(Zone 7b)

April 13, 2011
1:17 PM

Post #8493158

All the beds are 24' x 3'

I've been using old CD's to keep the birds from pecking at the veggies - it seems to be working.

Thumbnail by HoneybeeNC

Pfg
(Pam) Warren, CT
(Zone 5b)

April 13, 2011
2:01 PM

Post #8493243

I see the peas are down the middle. When they are finished, do you put something else there, or do the beets and broccoli need the space? My new raised beds are also 3' wide - not nearly as long, but enough to feed the 2 of us- and I'm working on a plan.

Thanks!

Pam

HoneybeeNC

HoneybeeNC
Charlotte, NC
(Zone 7b)

April 13, 2011
4:43 PM

Post #8493670

Pam - this is my first attempt at intensive gardening, so I don't know what will go down the middle. I think the beets will be ready soon, and I thought I would sow some soy beans in their place, or maybe some sweet peppers.

As I keep telling my hubby: "I'm making it up as I go along" LOL
JohnCrichton75
League City, TX
(Zone 9a)

April 13, 2011
7:01 PM

Post #8493985

That's a great quote, HoneyBee. LOL.

There are some really straight-forward aspects of gardening, but as one delves deeper into the matter it becomes a chess game. Crop rotations, plants/ vegetables with different DTMs, pest concerns. I mean, the list is endless. Gardening is so dynamic that sometimes you just have to jump in to get started. And learn from you experiences season after season...and just make it up as you go along.

This message was edited Apr 13, 2011 8:05 PM
Pfg
(Pam) Warren, CT
(Zone 5b)

April 13, 2011
9:41 PM

Post #8494283