Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
sthorn25
Columbia, MO

April 22, 2011
7:10 PM

Post #8514252

HELP!!! Problem with newly planted boxwoods...
We planted our "Winter Gem" Boxwoods just 2 weeks ago and they are doing awful! I am new at landscaping/gardening. The branches are drooping mainly from the bottom portion of the shrub, almost like a weeping willow! We have a new house and discovered when planting that we have a clay type soil. We planted the boxwoods with a mixture of the clay and miracle grow potting soil then mulched. The shrubs were absolutely beautiful when purchased (5 gallon size) and have gone downhill since about day 4. We planted 14 shrubs along the front of our house in hopes of growing them into a hedge, but now I'm really worried whats going on???? PLEASE help!!!!

Also, some of the new growth now is turning yellowish and looking burned???

Thumbnail by sthorn25
Click the image for an enlarged view.

ecrane3
Dublin, CA
(Zone 9a)

April 22, 2011
7:14 PM

Post #8514258

It could just be transplant shock. Make sure you're watering them enough (but not too much given the clay soil) and give them a little time, hopefully they should perk up as they get their roots going a bit.
WeeNel
Ayrshire Scotland
United Kingdom

April 25, 2011
12:57 PM

Post #8519546

Don't know your zone but, Box is normally trouble free especially the size you have planted, it's good that you know you have clay soil and this is inclined to stay colder well into spring then all of a sudden, it gets baked hard by summer sun, so as Ecrane has said, you need to learn how and when to water or when to feed.