-
AuthorContent
GrayThumb
Lost in the Woods, MO
(Zone 6a)

April 23, 2011
3:54 PM

Post #8515959

How large should containers for blueberries and raspberries be? What kind works or doesn't work? What do I do with the plants and pots in the winter? Does the bottom need to have gravel and/or broken clay pots for drainage? Do the containers need to have hole(s) in the bottom for drainage?

Thank you.
Frank65
Hallowell, ME

April 24, 2011
5:15 AM

Post #8516914

Blueberries (dwarf variety) can be grown in 5-gal containers. There is a question on whether raspberries can be grown in containers due to their spreading root system. I do wish someone would experiment with them just to see what happens! I have an extra plant and I just may try that one myself.
mraider3
Helena, MT

April 24, 2011
6:44 AM

Post #8517074

GrayThumb, I am not experienced in growing blueberries in pots but I am planning on ordering several to try this season. The nice thing about growing potted blueberries in the ability to easily adjust pH as required to the acetic side. I have been reading a number of taplas' postings on containers and had originally thought the same thing as you about adding rocks to the bottom of the container for drainage and have since changed my mind. Hole(s) in the bottom of the container are a must according to tapla and a wicking system is probably equally as important. I have some sheets of wicking material which I purchased several years ago and will use a strip of this material coming out of the bottom hole to remove the PW (perched water). It is recommended that you plant several varieties of blueberries as well. I am going with Frank's recommendation and using dwarf plants for these containers, however my containers a several times larger than 5-gallons, but they can easily be moved about with a dolly to protective shade in the heat of the summer to protection from the severe cold here in the winter. I have a deck on the north side of the house which will work fine f