AuthorContent

OutlawHeart81

OutlawHeart81
Syracuse, NY
(Zone 5a)

April 30, 2011
2:12 PM

Post #8530660

so... i started my gladiolus early, indoors, cause i'm new to this whole thing, and they got ridiculously tall, ridiculouly fast, so i put them in the ground, and within one hour they flopped. i'm guessing it was due to being grown indoors with no natural wind resistance. i'm wondering since it's so early should i stake them? cut them back? or just leave em alone?
2zeus

(Zone 7b)

April 30, 2011
2:25 PM

Post #8530680

Anything grown indoors needs to be "hardened off" - which just means it needs to be introduced to the sun/wind gradually. Try putting them into a shaded area, and only give them an hour or so of sun the first couple of days, then a little more, until they can adjust.

OutlawHeart81

OutlawHeart81
Syracuse, NY
(Zone 5a)

April 30, 2011
2:55 PM

Post #8530725

oh... should i dig them back out?
Doug9345
Durhamville, NY
(Zone 5b)

April 30, 2011
7:30 PM

Post #8531278

You have a couple of problems By transplanting them they have no roots in the ground to hold them up and it's been windy here the last few days. The other problem is that the soil temperature is still low. I just checked and the soil is 54 degrees F. This is close to the minimum for glads so they will grow slowly. At this point I'd stand them back up and stake them so that they have a chance to recover. also make sure they are deep enough. I think they might stand a light frost but they aren't going to grow very fast until it warms up. Wet ground warms up slower than dry sandy ground. Elevation makes a difference also. There is going to be a few days difference in planting times between the Oxbow south of Canastota and the muck in and around Canastota.

OutlawHeart81

OutlawHeart81
Syracuse, NY
(Zone 5a)

April 30, 2011
9:22 PM

Post #8531458