Photo by Melody
It's time now to VOTE in our 14th annual photo contest! Voting ends November 7, so be sure to cast your votes for your favorites in each category here. Good luck to all contestants!

Beginner Flowers: No fuss Perennials- List your favorites please

Communities > Forums > Beginner Flowers
bookmark
Forum: Beginner FlowersReplies: 40, Views: 416
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent

OutlawHeart81

OutlawHeart81
Syracuse, NY
(Zone 5a)

May 6, 2011
8:07 PM

Post #8544884

Ok, so i'm new to gardening, and i'd really like to start off with some hardy perennials that will really thrive with little interference, or maintenance, ie; digging up, drying, dividing, etc.
this information would also be greatly appreciated because my boss asked ME! to do some landscaping at our... burger king... :) where i work. lol

i'm sure i'm not the only one looking for this kind of feedback, and i'd love to hear, and See! whats growing best for you guys. pirl recommended i start this thread, so here it is.

***PLEASE LIST***
*your zone
*your choices
*any minimal maintenance required for optimal performance
(pictures not required, but always appreciated!:))
Thanks in advance! :)

flowAjen

flowAjen
central, NJ
(Zone 6b)

May 6, 2011
9:54 PM

Post #8545024

6b
Rudbeckia
Daylily
Aquilegia
Can deadhead
daylily may need dividing in a few years
Lilyofthenight
Victoria, TX
(Zone 9a)

May 7, 2011
12:59 PM

Post #8546016

Hands down,...Daylily, gladiolas, morning glory, passion vine. All are very easy to grow , water when dry apply fertilizer peak season, I use simple water based kind. Serious growers may use other methods, my plants are just for my enjoyment and I don't exactly have the funds for large gardens. I can leave you a link to some of what is in my yard as the pics were posted yesterday.
Happy Gardening!

http://davesgarden.com/community/forums/t/1178758/

themoonhowl

themoonhowl
Prairieville, LA
(Zone 9a)

May 7, 2011
2:12 PM

Post #8546141