Photo by Melody
It's time now to VOTE in our 14th annual photo contest! Voting ends November 7, so be sure to cast your votes for your favorites in each category here. Good luck to all contestants!

Soil and Composting: blending kitchen scraps to puree and pouring into garden bed

Communities > Forums > Soil and Composting
bookmark
Forum: Soil and CompostingReplies: 9, Views: 173
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
seran72
Bozeman, MT

May 19, 2011
8:22 PM

Post #8574968

I have a compost pile. But I'm a newbie, and I built it in an inconvenient location and I'm having real trouble turning it. Eventually, I will sort it all out and get good at it. In the meantime, the kitchen scraps keep piling up.

Today I got tired of them, so I put them all in a blender with some coffee grounds, coffee drippings and water and blended to a puree.

Then I went out to one of my beds, dug a hole in a spot that was away from any plants, poured in the puree and covered it back up with soil.

Then, since I had more scraps, I did the same thing three more times.

Any thoughts? Have you heard of this before? Is this done?
mjaorhyn
Saint Paul, MN
(Zone 4a)

May 20, 2011
8:21 AM

Post #8575638

I'd pour the slurry on the compost piles. I bet it accelerates the process.

HoneybeeNC

HoneybeeNC
Charlotte, NC
(Zone 7b)

May 20, 2011
9:06 AM

Post #8575697

seran72 - I've done this with kichen scraps, when the weather is hot, without putting them in the blender! They break down very quickly. I wouldn't do this in the winter, or when the soil is cold because it might attract vermin.
PuddlePirate
North Ridgeville, OH
(Zone 5b)

May 20, 2011
10:09 AM

Post #8575784

I have an old blender set aside for kitchen scraps. I save the slurry in a coffee can in the freezer. When it's full, I set it on my garage floor to thaw w/o any risk from hungry critters.

I use it to kickstart compost, but burying it works too.
gardadore
Saylorsburg, PA
(Zone 6a)

May 23, 2011
2:09 PM

Post #8582471