Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Beginner Gardening Questions: Is it too late to plant Cosmo seeds outside?

Communities > Forums > Beginner Gardening Questions
bookmark
Forum: Beginner Gardening QuestionsReplies: 9, Views: 90
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
toofewanimals
Trenton, MI
(Zone 5b)

May 22, 2011
4:02 AM

Post #8578873

Ok, so I'm not a beginner. But I've always started my cosmo seeds inside.
The ones I sowed this year did not germinate. But I've decided I really want them.
Soooo, here's the information ... our last frost date was May 15th. Usually you sow the cosmo
seeds outside as soon as the soil is workable. If I sow them outside now will they bloom before the end our our summer?
Detroit, Michigan zone 5/6. I'd appreciate any infor.

I've finally dug an area out in front of the garden shed and would love to have the cosmos there.
Thanks, sharon

Thumbnail by toofewanimals
Click the image for an enlarged view.

SusanKC
Shawnee Mission, KS
(Zone 6a)

May 22, 2011
6:11 AM

Post #8579062

Looks like it should be fine.
http://www.outsidepride.com/seed/flower-seed/cosmos/cosmos-flower-seed.html
serenaski
Traverse City, MI
(Zone 6a)

May 22, 2011
1:31 PM

Post #8579862

This is not at all meant to discourage you, because I do live further north and that may very well be the difference. Last year I started some cosmos seeds in a full sun garden during the second week in May (it had been warm early), anyway the plants and foliage did great, but they did not have as many blooms as the ones that I had started inside and a few of them had no blooms at all. Same garden, same seed packet, same soil, and same food, only difference was when they were started.
SusanKC
Shawnee Mission, KS
(Zone 6a)

May 22, 2011
1:50 PM

Post #8579911