Photo by Melody

Propagation: Honeysuckle Cutting - Rooting!

Communities > Forums > Propagation
bookmark
Forum: PropagationReplies: 6, Views: 76
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
SkeptikSharon
Ontario, CA
(Zone 8b)

May 23, 2011
12:53 PM

Post #8582308

Hi All,

Just wanted to share, because I'm excited and I'm a newbie gardener so I get excited over very little things.

As an experiment, I had taken a couple cuttings of honeysuckle (new growth) and stuck them in a cup of water. No rooting hormone. No nothing. I did have to put them into distilled water after rinsing in a 10% bleach solution to get rid of the funk, but that was it. That was about 12 days ago.

And today, I look, and I have a little root starting to come out! I am so excited! I really expected nothing to come of the various cuttings I took, but this one is looking promising!

I also have a cutting of confederate jasmine that is also looking promising. I think it has sent out little teeny tiny roots out of a partial small leaf that was cut halfway through, as an almost identical cutting has shriveled and died, but this one is still green.

Okay, you can laugh at me now. I'm having fun. It's like going back to school and doing science experiments. =)

Thumbnail by SkeptikSharon
Click the image for an enlarged view.

KayJones
Panama City Beach, FL
(Zone 8b)

May 23, 2011
4:57 PM

Post #8582775

Well, CONGRATULATIONS! It is always exciting to work with plants - you never know what will pan out!!!
SkeptikSharon
Ontario, CA
(Zone 8b)

May 23, 2011
5:12 PM

Post #8582810

Thank you! I just thought it would be interesting to try. I remember my mom rooting some of her houseplants in water when I was a kid and that was always really neat to me. =)
KayJones
Panama City Beach, FL
(Zone 8b)

May 23, 2011
6:48 PM

Post #8583060

Keep doing whatever works for you and keep us posted on each of your efforts, good or bad - we love hearing about them!
SkeptikSharon
Ontario, CA
(Zone 8b)

May 24, 2011
8:37 AM