Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

African Violets and Gesneriads: Rescuing a Streptocarpus!

Communities > Forums > African Violets and Gesneriads
bookmark
Forum: African Violets and GesneriadsReplies: 5, Views: 83
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
Plantmum6
American Canyon, CA
(Zone 9a)

May 25, 2011
7:07 AM

Post #8586113

I love Streptocarpus, but I am new to growing them. I went a little crazy last month and bought four on Ebay. They arrived in 2 inch pots with blooms on them. Two are doing great, one is so-so and one appears to be rotting at the crown. I pushed the soild down around the crown and put pebbles and I am letting it get almost wilted between watering but the leaves are turning brown. Any miracle remedies?

I am wondering if I should take a cutting in case it croaks? What propagation method works best for you that grow them? Whole leaf? Sections? Soil, water? Cover or no?

Thanks in advance!

Tina , new Streptomaniac!
bsimpson1972
Chicago, IL
(Zone 6a)

May 25, 2011
8:20 AM

Post #8586282

Crown rot is mostly a sign of too much water.

Definitely take a leaf or two and for propagation. The most popular method is to take the leaf, cut away the midrib and put the halves cut side down in some moist propagation mix (Perlite/Vermiculite 1:1 for example). Put in a plastic bag and wait for the plantlets to emerge. There are plenty of how to videos on YouTube.

A lot of times when you buy a plant, the mix is too soggy and heavy. If that's the case, repot into something lighter (AV mix/Perlite 1:1 for example).

I hope that helped.

Olaf
lbrabec
(Lynn) Omaha, NE
(Zone 5a)

May 25, 2011
11:42 AM

Post #8586679