Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Hoyas: Is there a small growing Hoya for beginners?

Communities > Forums > Hoyas
bookmark
Forum: HoyasReplies: 8, Views: 180
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
bsimpson1972
Chicago, IL
(Zone 6a)

May 26, 2011
6:22 PM

Post #8589490

I have been growing tropicals for over 30 years. I love anything in the Apocynaceae (or whatever respective members are currently called) family. Hoyas are new to me. The reason is that the heavily scented flowers of the most common species/cultivars give me a headache. Literally. Too sweet. To heavy. Ouch!

I can spend hours in an overheated greenhouse with rather smelly Stapeliads or Aroids and don't mind it too much. Don't get me wrong: I don't enjoy that either but at least it is not giving me a headache.

Now here's my question: Is there a small growing Hoya that is NOT too heavily scented and not too fussy?

Let me clarify: I don't consider "LFS" or "high humidity" or "terrarium" or "likes Dolomite" or anything like that fussy - I just need to know if it needs to be pampered all the time. If it has to be, I don't want it. LOL

wiggiej
Ann Arbor, MI

May 26, 2011
9:14 PM

Post #8589878

Others will undoubtedly have better suggestions, but one that I find quite easy and isn't scented at all (to my nose) is hoya multiflora a.k.a. shooting
star hoya. The flowers are quite attractive as well.

I hope this helps!

Jan

Hoya multiflora in bloom :

Thumbnail by wiggiej
Click the image for an enlarged view.

mjsponies

mjsponies
DeLand/Deleon Spring, FL
(Zone 8b)

May 27, 2011
10:52 AM

Post #8590826

Hoya Bella Variegata...I don't think it has much scent either...very pretty has a solid green form and the variegated.
http://davesgarden.com/guides/pf/go/73760/
bsimpson1972
Chicago, IL