Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Plumerias: Growing Plumeria from Seed

Communities > Forums > Plumerias
bookmark
Forum: PlumeriasReplies: 27, Views: 229
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
SkeptikSharon
Ontario, CA
(Zone 8b)

May 30, 2011
8:58 PM

Post #8598383

Hi All,

I'm new to DG and new to gardening in general. I recently picked up seeds for a variety of plants, one being plumeria. I'm not completely sure what will work for me and what won't, so I figured starting from seed would be a fun way to learn.

I started a few plumeria seeds between paper towels in a baggie on the 25th, and I checked them again today and one has finally sprouted! I'm planning to move it to a small pot tomorrow, following some basic instructions I found online.

However, I wanted to see if any of you have any specific tips or tricks for growing from seed. I know it will take forever before I see flowers, but it should be fun anyway. =)

Lily_love

Lily_love
Central, AL
(Zone 7b)

June 2, 2011
11:56 AM

Post #8604163

Hi Sharon, Welcome to DG.

I remember seeing Ontario Ca. on the map. But that was it. What's like with your climate there? Does it get cold enough in the winter to freeze the ground?, how much sun/shade do you have ect... I've been lucky to have success with plummie seeds germination. But I can't say I've any that would flower for me ... eventually they will, it's all dependent on the growing condition I give them.

From cuttings; I've a few that do well here for me. In my zone, they need winter protection of a greenhouse/or basement protection while in dormancy.
SkeptikSharon
Ontario, CA
(Zone 8b)

June 3, 2011
8:20 AM

Post #8606052

Hello Lily_love,