-
AuthorContent
weasel71
Lombard, IL
(Zone 5a)

June 3, 2011
5:26 AM

Post #8605726

Hi all. This is my first time starting watermelon and pumpkin from seed and I'd appreciate some advice. On May 25, I planted Moon & Stars, Jack Be Little and Lil' Pump-Ke-Mon seeds in my raised corner bed that gets full sun. The ground is plenty warm. The problem is, I have yet to see a seedling pop up. Do these seeds usually take longer to germinate? I figure this is a possibility since the seeds have a hard shell? It's been 10 days since I've planted them. Thanks!
trc65
Galesburg, IL

June 3, 2011
8:22 PM

Post #8607336

You should probably have seen something by now. I would do a little gentle digging, scrapping away just a little bit of soil at a time and see if your seeds are still there or if some of the neighborhood squirrels/ birds or other animal made away with the seed. I planted some Howden and Hercules pumpkin seed on 5/23 and they have been up for about 4 days. The smaller pumpkins usually do take a little longer to germinate and emerge, but I would think you should have seen something by now. I germinate most of my pumpkins inside and then transplant them at about the two leaf stage. I live out in the country, and don't have problems with squirrels, but birds have terrible this year.
cornish2175
Charleston, SC
(Zone 8b)

June 4, 2011
4:15 AM

Post #8607735

I had trouble this year with my ' big seeds'. I do not plant pumpkin or watermelon but my squashed and beans took longer than usual. I assume you are watering enough? I just replanted squash and soaked the seeds 24 hours to give them a jump start. We are in drought conditions here with 100 degree temps. So hot the dirt in my beds have turned to dust.
weasel71
Lombard, IL
(Zone 5a)

June 4, 2011
4:49 AM

Post #8607770