Photo by Melody

Cameras and Photography: Flowers-up-close.

Communities > Forums > Cameras and Photography
bookmark
Forum: Cameras and PhotographyReplies: 16, Views: 170
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent

virginiarose

virginiarose
Southeast, VA
(Zone 8a)

June 7, 2011
3:18 PM

Post #8616085

I am not a Photographer, But I just want to take pictures of flowers. What is a good camera for taking close-ups of flowers. Most of the time mine come out blurry, not sure what I'm doing wrong so I take 3 or 4 and one comes out OK. I am a beginner, I wanted a "Point & Shoot" but ended up with a Kodak digital camera(c142) OK for a beginner, got it on eBay for 25.00. This camera is to practice on, I have no idea what I am doing!
timmijo
Ellendale, DE
(Zone 7a)

June 10, 2011
9:38 AM

Post #8622181

Just some VERY basic answers:

1. Make sure your zoom is all the way in (back to regular, or NOT zoomed).
2. Make sure you have selected MACRO (most digital cameras have a macro setting).
3. Check your focus setting. There should be a selection on your camera. You can change it from focusing on multi-points (which is fine for macro shooting) or you can tell the camera to focus on a smaller spot in the center of what you see in the viewfinder.
4. Hold VERY still when you are trying to take a photo.
5. Press your shutter down HALFWAY to give your camera time to figure out what it wants to focus on. There should be a display in your viewfinder that indicates focus points.
6.Press your shutter down ALL the way to take the picture.

It is not unusual to have to take MANY pictures to get one REAL good shot in digital photography, especially when you are still learning.

My advice is to read the manual and get very familiar with your camera. It involves time and practice, but it is time well spent.

virginiarose

virginiarose
Southeast, VA
(Zone 8a)

June 10, 2011
4:43 PM

Post #8622787