-
AuthorContent
Dilettante
Mount Joy, PA
(Zone 6a)

June 12, 2011
6:23 AM

Post #8625317

Hi, this is my first time ever growing a vegetable garden, and my plants are not thriving or getting any bigger after transplanting them into the bales weeks ago. I'm in South central PA.

I did the research last year for strawbale gardening so that I could get started this season. I read a lot of different articles online on how to start the bales, and somewhere got the (wrong?) advice that if the straw bales seasoned over the winter, it would not be necessary to treat them with nitrogen regimen, just soak them and plant them. This was appealing to me, because I am not very good at following complex instructions.

I got 6 bales from one source that seemed to be already aging, and 12 more from another, also harvested last fall, but seemed fresher and drier. We got a lot of rain before I planted, plus on days we didn't get rain, I watered them. I put a combination of potting soil and bagged organic compost in a 1 inch layer over the tops of the bales, and dug out a 3 inch by 3 inch hole (bigger for the larger seedlings) filled with potting soil and compost for each transplant.