Photo by Melody
It's time now to VOTE in our 14th annual photo contest! Voting ends November 7, so be sure to cast your votes for your favorites in each category here. Good luck to all contestants!

Bromeliads: Dyckia fragrans

Communities > Forums > Bromeliads
bookmark
Forum: BromeliadsReplies: 10, Views: 122
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
Flicker
Covington, LA
(Zone 8b)

June 18, 2011
4:26 PM

Post #8638886

Here is a dyckia fragrans that I have been growing as a potted single for a few years. It is 23 in. wide. This summer it has offset several robust pups. I prefer to remove the pups to prevent misshaping the mature specimen. We are having an extreme drought, so it has been watered regularly.

Thumbnail by Flicker
Click the image for an enlarged view.

Flicker
Covington, LA
(Zone 8b)

June 18, 2011
4:29 PM

Post #8638889

Here is a top view. It is just starting to form a double crown.

Thumbnail by Flicker

Flicker
Covington, LA
(Zone 8b)

June 18, 2011
4:35 PM

Post #8638900

This plant has offset pups before, but none as fine as the ones this season.Here is one side of the trunk.
I removed the plant from the pot and set it on a wire ring tomato basket to reach the pups without getting jabbed or damaging the trunk. I even wore eye protection!

Thumbnail by Flicker

Flicker
Covington, LA
(Zone 8b)

June 18, 2011
4:38 PM

Post #8638903

This is the other side of the trunk. The pups popped off easily using my fingers. I couldn't have done this in the pot.

Thumbnail by Flicker

Flicker
Covington, LA
(Zone 8b)

June 18, 2011
4:42 PM

Post #8638908

Voila! None of them have roots. I assume roots will form once planted in a pot.

Thumbnail by Flicker

Flicker
Covington, LA
(Zone 8b)

June 18, 2011
4:48 PM

Post #8638917

I have several different dyckias. A few of them do not set pups, it seems. I have a lot to learn about them.
Dyckias are a tough bunch of plants!! And pretty neat in spite of the barbs.

Thumbnail by Flicker

plantsforpeg
Ventress, LA
(Zone 8b)