Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
niceguy2
Rochester, MN

June 19, 2011
7:09 PM

Post #8641221

I'm a newbie to posting here, but not a newbie to glads. My parents raised 20 acres of glads when I was growing up. We had a mechanical planted that dropped the bulbs into the furrows and then covered them up. There was no way to determine how the bulbs faced.

Up til now it seems the common thought here is that bulbs need to be planted with the eye up. This isn't the case. Bulbs can be planted in any direction. Being planted upside down will not prevent them from growing or diminish the size of the flowers.

People could benefit from planting bulbs in different directions because the ones facing sideways and upside down will take longer to develop. Creating more varied bloom times.

Suny_Freebird

Suny_Freebird
Cedar Bluff, AL
(Zone 7b)

June 20, 2011
1:15 PM

Post #8642866

HI,
I found your post about planting the glads very interesting -- makes sense. I just love glads and grow them in remembrance of my daddy who grew them and who taught me to grow plants and veggies and love gardening. I have started the first glad bed I've been able to have in a number of years, only have a few, but am very proud of every one. They are one of the most beautiful flowers.

Do you have any bulbs you would like to trade?

I finally have room to grow and landscape and have gone wild!!!

Florida girl in north Alabama makin it!!!

Have A Grateful Day,

Suny

Thumbnail by Suny_Freebird
Click the image for an enlarged view.

Suny_Freebird

Suny_Freebird
Cedar Bluff, AL
(Zone 7b)

June 20, 2011
2:04 PM

Post #8642955

Here is another picture of my glads!!

Suny

Thumbnail by Suny_Freebird
Click the image for an enlarged view.

niceguy2
Rochester, MN

June 22, 2011
5:04 AM

Post #8646342

Hi Suny,