Photo by Melody
It's time now to VOTE in our 14th annual photo contest! Voting ends November 7, so be sure to cast your votes for your favorites in each category here. Good luck to all contestants!

Hoyas: Soil/growing medium

Communities > Forums > Hoyas
bookmark
Forum: HoyasReplies: 4, Views: 114
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
plexippus
Chicago Suburbs, IL
(Zone 5b)

July 15, 2011
1:10 PM

Post #8694280

I am new to hoyas and trying to sort through various websites is a little overwhelming. I am wondering what people plant their hoyas in and if there is a recommended brand or custom mix of something. Are there are very basic hoya websites for people that are new to hoyas?
imadigger
Palm Bay, FL
(Zone 9b)

July 16, 2011
6:32 AM

Post #8695461

Here is what I use to pot my hoya:

1 part african violet potting soil
1 part perlite
1 part orchid mix

You can use regular potting soil, but I prefer the AV mix. Hoya like chunky mix. Their habitat is growing mainly on trees. I let my plants dry a little between watering. I have them growing outside under lanai roof, facing east. They get morning sun for about 1 hour a day. We usually get rain every afternoon during the summer months, so I don't water them as much. They love the mist from the rain.
I'm sure others with more experience will chime in with their reccomendations. Happy hoya growing. It can become addicting.
pprice
Ranburne, AL
(Zone 7b)

February 21, 2013
8:07 AM

Post #9426626

Thanks for infro .I have ordered some and that helped a lot .If u have extras I am starting over where my husband died and I moved back to Al. to be close to family .Porsha pprice256@gmail.com
imadigger
Palm Bay, FL
(Zone 9b)

February 24, 2013
8:53 AM

Post #9429767