Photo by Melody

Hybridizers: Does hot 90+ degrees prevent daylilies from setting pods?

Communities > Forums > Hybridizers
bookmark
Forum: HybridizersReplies: 99, Views: 363
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent

blomma

blomma
Wyoming, WY
(Zone 4a)

July 19, 2011
11:53 PM

Post #8703014

I have tried to cross daylilies (tetras) without success. About the time my new daylilies began to bloom our temp reached 90 degrees and more for a whole week. Still hot. Last year I had no problems with other daylilies (dips) setting pods.

Are tets more difficult to cross, or is it the heat, or combination of the two? I am new at crossing tets since I recently began to purchase them. I am saving pollen incase the weather cools.

Any advise would be appreciated.

Thumbnail by blomma
Click the image for an enlarged view.

IndaShade
Kylertown, PA
(Zone 5b)

July 20, 2011
11:27 AM

Post #8703987

Yes, the heat is playing havoc with daylily hybridizing this year. I am losing just about half of all of my morning efforts, and it doesn't seem to matter how early you get out in the beds.

Some years are just like that. :-(

This message was edited Jul 20, 2011 1:28 PM

blomma

blomma
Wyoming, WY
(Zone 4a)

July 20, 2011
1:13 PM

Post #8704216

IndaShade,
Thanks for answering. Darn, I was afraid of that. And I have so many new tets that are starting to bloom. It is still hot here. Was out early this morning crossing them. I collected pollen just incase our weather cools. Purchased those small tubes from a seller on LA. They work great for storing pollen.

You are ahead of me. So far not one bod. I have both tets and dips and neither have set buds. Last year before new tets bloomed, I had so many dip pods.

All I can do is continue and hope for the best.
nhuntley
Holladay, UT
(Zone 5a)

July 21, 2011
12:09 AM

Post #8705298