Photo by Melody
It's time now to VOTE in our 14th annual photo contest! Voting ends November 7, so be sure to cast your votes for your favorites in each category here. Good luck to all contestants!

Roses: Black spot?..On Knockouts? Oh, No :(

Communities > Forums > Roses
bookmark
Forum: RosesReplies: 8, Views: 115
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
sm4657
Marshalltown, IA
(Zone 5a)

July 21, 2011
9:07 AM

Post #8705955

It has been terribly hot here in Iowa...Temps at 98, heat index at 112 degrees for 7 days. No rain, but maybe some coming.

Here are some pictures of my new Knockout rose bushes I just planted this spring. This is my first experience with roses, and I read where Knockouts were free of diseases...now look. I have used a fungicidle spray on them just this week, but they continue to go bad. Someone told me to get rid of them, but I have some money in them and can't just throw them out...
Any and all suggestions are welcome as I am new at this.

Here's the pix;
sm4657
Marshalltown, IA
(Zone 5a)

July 21, 2011
9:16 AM

Post #8705980

And another...

Thumbnail by sm4657
Click the image for an enlarged view.

porkpal
Richmond, TX

July 21, 2011
7:20 PM

Post #8707432

Black spot will not kill them or even keep them from blooming, but Knockouts are supposed to be more resistant than average. I never spray any of my roses and they do lose some of their leaves to fungus, by fall they usually recover and bloom almost as well as in the spring. Many rose growers are able to keep their plants free of fungus by maintaining a spray schedule about every week or two. Don't give up on them!
sm4657
Marshalltown, IA
(Zone 5a)

July 22, 2011
8:41 AM

Post #8708418

Thank you...I am feeling better about it then...I will do a weekly fungicide spraying and see what happens...

The humidity here has been out of sight...I can't think of a summer where it has been quite this bad. Maybe the heat stress, plus being new are the factors involved...

terri_emory
Alba, TX
(Zone 8a)