My poor old man "Star"

Bloomingdale, NJ(Zone 6a)

Poor Star- my 40 yr old horse is such a trooper. 2 days ago he got caught under the gate and ripped off most of the skin on both back legs and lacerated his left hind down to the cannon bone. Luckily he didn't break the bone or damage any tendons or ligaments, so I think he should heal with time. He's such a good boy- Been used for hippotherapy for years(was still giving lessons once or twice a week until he got hurt), and is so calm and gentle. He actually let me stitch him up with just a little ace and some local anesthesia and just stood there without trying to kick or anything (I am a small animal vet, so do a lot of my own equine work- the horse vet wasn't available for a couple hrs, so I'm learning alot about equine medicine!!). It will be lots of bandage changes, antibiotics, and pain meds for the next couple weeks- and of course lots of TLC and all the cookies he can handle!!

Thumbnail by kat7
South Hamilton, MA

Glad he is so patient. He has obviously figured out that you know what you are doing. ☺

KC Metro area, MO(Zone 6a)

He looks great for being 40!! Glad he will heal from his injuries.

Huron, OH(Zone 5b)

what a nice guy! Glad he knew you were helping and that he will heal ok.

Star's enjoying all the extra TLC!

Thumbnail by kat7
Richmond, TX

What a grand old man! What breed is he?

Medina, OH

Lucky Boy to have such a talented Mom!

Not really sure what breed he is- I acquired him as just a grade, prob part quarter horse and who knows what. He's been such a great horse and I want to keep him going as long as possible!