Photo by Melody
Are you ready? It's time for our 14th annual photo contest! Enter your best pictures of the year, for a chance to win a calendar and annual subscription here. Hurry! Deadline for entries is October 21.

Roses: Help Please

Communities > Forums > Roses
bookmark
Forum: RosesReplies: 7, Views: 91
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
shimaevolve
Oshkosh, WI
(Zone 4b)

August 3, 2011
10:26 AM

Post #8734281

Hi I'm new to the "Garden" and have 36 roses in my collection of perennials. I've had roses for nearly 30 years now but am having a serious problem w/ my roses that I've never had before. The leaves at the top of about 1/3rd of them are a rust color even orange on the worst affected. Along w/ the regular schedule of Shult'z rose food I've used for years I have added iron/sulfur, magnesium, phosphorous and potash, I believe one of those is helping as some improve for awhile and then they start it again. I can't find anything that describes the rusty/orange color in the books I have. Does anyone have any ideas???????
I'd send a pic but really haven't had time yet to get one. We've had so much rain ever since early spring and I'm thinking some important nutrient has leached out of the soil
This is a crazy busy summer as I am also establishing and caring for new 10 new beds as the volunteer gardener at our local domestic abuse center. I'm hoping to make full use of Dave's Garden and all of the collective knowledge here.
Thanks for any help you can give
WayneKY
Cadiz, KY

August 3, 2011
6:33 PM

Post #8735418

Sounds like rust (a fungus). http://www.olyrose.org/pests.htm

Wayne
Eglantyne
Gardiner, ME
(Zone 5a)

August 4, 2011
7:11 AM

Post #8736235

Hi,did you notice anything else ? Are any of the leaves distorted and crinkled ? more thorns ?
You described the color as orange.Are some of them more into red ? I hope not because that could be the dreaded Rose Rosette disease which is 100% fatal.