Photo by Melody
Are you ready? It's time for our 14th annual photo contest! Enter your best pictures of the year, for a chance to win a calendar and annual subscription here. Hurry! Deadline for entries is October 21.

Homesteading: Saving Tomatoes

Communities > Forums > Homesteading
bookmark
Forum: HomesteadingReplies: 8, Views: 170
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
CajuninKy
Biggs, KY
(Zone 6a)

August 8, 2011
2:15 PM

Post #8744848

I have recieved a windfall of tomatoes, gifts from 3 different people, bless their hearts. I lost nearly all my tomatoes to blight. I don't want to waste any of these tomatoes so I need to preserve them. I do not know how to can and I do not have the equipment it requires so I will have to freeze he tomatoes. What is the best way to do that? I have never tried it before.
podster
Deep East Texas, TX
(Zone 8a)

August 9, 2011
6:35 PM

Post #8747572

Congratulations on the good score. I've not frozen tomatoes so not much help but I've never used a pressure cooker to can tomatoes. If you have jars/lids and waterbath canner you can put them up.

Wish I had had a better crop, I was wanting to dry some this year but no extra.

I can look up the freezing info but am sure someone will be along to offer assistance.
cando1
Ozone, AR
(Zone 6a)

August 9, 2011
11:43 PM

Post #8748030

Congrats on your gift.
I've frozen alot of tomatoes. They have a better flavor.
I use a canner full of boiling water dump the whole tomatoes in. after the water returns to boiling I dip them out with a drainer, Than immediately drop them into another pot(or the sink) filled with ice water. The skins will slip right off. Then i stuff them into quart freezer bags. and freeze. There is only me to cook for so you might elect to use larger bags. I don't add salt.
Vickie
CajuninKy
Biggs, KY
(Zone 6a)

August 12, 2011
6:27 PM

Post #8752857

Thanks so much for this info. I am hoping to get to them tomorrow. Been cleaning out the freezer today. Found gumbo from '05!!!