Photo by Melody
Are you ready? It's time for our 14th annual photo contest! Enter your best pictures of the year, for a chance to win a calendar and annual subscription here. Hurry! Deadline for entries is October 21.

Sewing and Quilting: What Did You Learn Today?

Communities > Forums > Sewing and Quilting
bookmark
Forum: Sewing and QuiltingReplies: 101, Views: 720
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
quilter_gal
(Elizabeth) DFW Area, TX

August 17, 2011
7:40 PM

Post #8762146

We came from here: http://davesgarden.com/community/forums/t/1157302/ but we were getting a little long in the tooth...

I learned that I often imagine things being a lot harder than they turn out to be. I have been dragging my feet for two years on this top because I was so dreading puttting it together.

I had referenced this quilt in that thread and sent out pattern kits to everyone who asked for them, but I finally got around to piecing the main part of the top, and I finished it, today! It *was* a pain in the neck but it wasn't nearly as hard as I anticipated! :)

You can see stages of the top in progress and sort of how I mixed the sizes of blocks in my flickr account: http://www.flickr.com/photos/thepolyparrot/sets/72157627457611250/ - I included one picture exported from Electric Quilt so you can see where I deviated from the plan. It was kind of like puttting together a puzzle because of the differently sized blocks.

The quilt is called "Bubbles." I used 1930's repros mixed with white on white and white on natural prints and I mixed bits of traditional layout almost willy-nilly to get a modern look. I'm going to baste it tomorrow and hopefully have it done in another week. After I quilt the main area, I will serge the edges of the quilt and put on the borders, which are in a traditional layout.

Right now, the quilt is 90" square and when it's done, it will be 103". :)

This message was edited Aug 17, 2011 8:42 PM

Thumbnail by quilter_gal
Click the image for an enlarged view.