Photo by Melody
Congratulations to all our photo contest participants! Check out the winning photos here. We will have the 2015 calendars available to order from Zazzle soon.

Poultry and Livestock: Duck Dwelling

Communities > Forums > Poultry and Livestock
bookmark
Forum: Poultry and LivestockReplies: 20, Views: 81
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
catmad
Pelzer, SC
(Zone 7b)

August 26, 2011
4:38 AM

Post #8777532

I am new to Ducks. I have three, and they have been spending their nights in one of the chicken houses, in a seperate enclosure that is secure from rats. They hate it. I need to build them a house of their own. What I need from you is direction.

From what I see, they don't need "roosts". Or, _should_ they be sleeping on roosts? They don't seem built for it, but what do I know?

How much room per duck? I have three now, but see up to 6 possible. This is just for night-time use, they'll be free during the day.

How tall should the inner ceiling be? I usually build things to be just above standing head height for the critters that will occupy it, to conserve heat during the cold weather, but I'm also usually building for mammals. These fellers seem to be well insulated without my help *G*.

Windows? I'm planning to hinge the roof if I can figure a way to secure it when closed.
It will be inside a chainlink pen (roofed?), that will be closed at night, open during the day.

Any advice is welcome, I find them very endearing (even though they hate me), and it worries me...

p.s. One of them seems to be longing to run with the chickens, which is what he's always done. Can I allow that? Currently they're seperated by the duckyard fence.
titaniumRX8
Mint Hill, NC
(Zone 7b)

August 26, 2011
9:27 AM

Post #8778035

Catmad - I personally don't think you really need to keep them separated. I didn't when I first got them and they were all fine together. If the chickens were in their way they would just nudge them out of the way.