Calling all "judges" for the annual DG County Fair! Vote for your favorites here!

Crop Rotation - Garlic

Phoenix, AZ(Zone 9b)

I would like to plant the same bed with garlic soon, is that a bad idea? I'm sprouting some buckwheat in that bed now, will that change things around enough or should I plant in a completely different bed?

Thanks for any input.

Deep East Texas, TX(Zone 8a)

IMO, it would not hurt anything. In this area, garlic beds are permanent like a perennial bed with no ill effect.

Cleveland,GA/Atlanta, GA(Zone 7b)

I too have grown garlic on the same spots for over twenty years.

Phoenix, AZ(Zone 9b)

Thanks to both for the feedback....back to that bed it is. Time to order the garlic.

Ottawa, ON(Zone 5a)

I'm new to growing garlic but I'm getting tired of seeing garlic from China in the grocery stores. I was surprised by the many different varieties that I found when I went to buy it. Does anyone have recommendations on varieties and tips for growing the garlic? Of course, in a zone 5 garden, different things may apply than in your gardens.

Ann

I know there are a lot of problems with orchid imports to Canada so assume it might be the same for garlic. Phytosanitary certificates are usually required for plant materials coming and going between countries which really adds to the costs. I saw a site called Boundary Garlic Farm that's in Canada http://www.garlicfarm.ca/garlic-varieties.htm Hardnecks would probably do best in your location. I'd look to the growers who grow for gardeners for advice regarding varieties best for you. We too are getting a lot of Chinese as well as S. American garlic these days.

Ottawa, ON(Zone 5a)

Finding it isn't the problem. It's readily available in good garden stores. I just don't know anything about the various varieties and I don't know much about growing it though I've found some web sites that deal with that.

ann