-
AuthorContent
TARogers5
Kingston, OK
(Zone 7a)

September 24, 2011
11:05 AM

Post #8822081

On my canon S5IS bracket shot will get the lighting. Can you also get the focus for close and far objects. I am new at this.
Should they be close or far abart on the light and dark shots. 2.5
hcmcdole
Powder Springs, GA
(Zone 7b)

September 24, 2011
11:31 AM

Post #8822110

For HDR, the recommendation is to set your camera to a fixed ISO and f-stop. Therefore whatever you set your f-stop for and wherever your focal point is, is what determines the sharpness from front to back. The only thing that should change is the shutter speed for best results (I made mistakes when I started on this technique by keeping the ISO in auto mode - it doesn't work well when you do this). If you want the picture to be in focus from near to far, then set the f-stop to some small number (f/22 for example) and focus about 1/3 of the way into the scene.

PanamonCreel
Celaya
Mexico
(Zone 10a)

September 27, 2011
8:06 AM

Post #8826454

For true HDR (sadly many if not most shots labeled as HDR on the net are not really HDR ) you should take at least three bracket shots with min. 2.0 EV offset each. That also means that the scene you want to capture should have enough contrast difference to justify the large EV offset / use of HDR.
As hcmcdole mentioned above it is important to maintain the same DOF (Depth of Field) between your bracketing shots by using the same aperture and varying the shutter speed only. Variation in ISO the change exposure is also possible if your camera doesn't introduce noise at higher ISO which would be detrimental to the HDR end result. Generally compact cameras don't do well in the ISO noise realm so exposure variation via ISO are to be avoided there.
White Balance between the shots should also be the same so it's better to use manual WB instead of Auto WB.