-
AuthorContent
Ajhall
Lewiston, ME
(Zone 5a)

October 10, 2011
5:27 AM

Post #8843086

I'm new to perennial gardening. Almost accidentally, I built a raised bed in my small urban yard this summer. By accidentally, I mean I didn't set out to build one, it just kind of happened as I putzed around the yard doing this and that. So, with a new raised bed that cost a lot of sweat and back aches, I had to fill it. I have what I hope will be a nice plot next year. Next spring I would like to make a climbing rose the center of the bed, but rose growing seems intimidating. I have an area plotted out that's 4 feet wide along an 8' fence. Any suggestions on whether this is enough space and climbing rose varieties that are novice-friendly? It'll be flanked by irises. The soil is well-amended with compost and loam. It get's clay-ey about a foot down but drains well. The area gets about 6-10 hours of hard sun a day depending on the time of year. I'm in Zone 5

Thank you very much

kwanjin

kwanjin
West Valley City, UT
(Zone 7a)

October 10, 2011
2:51 PM

Post #8843835

Roses are more forgiving than you'd think. I have several I adore. Golden Showers is a lovely yellow climber. I also have Betty Boop, red with white centers, and a miniature, Barbie.

What colors do you like or would like there?

This message was edited Oct 10, 2011 8:22 PM
PhyllisMihalik
Chardon, OH

October 10, 2011
3:59 PM

Post #8843931

Hi future rosarian,

I too live in zone 5 and have grown exhibition tea roses for years. You have ideal conditions for roses.

You can go to your local Extension office and ask a Master Gardener Volunteer for info on growing roses is your area. They will have a local university research website where you can get reliable info.