Photo by Melody
Are you ready? It's time for our 14th annual photo contest! Enter your best pictures of the year, for a chance to win a calendar and annual subscription here. Hurry! Deadline for entries is October 21.

Beekeeping: dead bees

Communities > Forums > Beekeeping
bookmark
Forum: BeekeepingReplies: 4, Views: 47
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
Rainbowbees
French Island, WI

November 2, 2011
9:00 AM

Post #8873211

I opened my bee hive to check on them before I wrap the hive for winter. Most of the honey is gone and there is a pile of dead bees in the bottom. The new ( since early september) comb is darks brown and uneven. There are adult dead bees face first in the combs. I have tried to contact our county ag agent but he doesn't respond. Help!!!
BEES4ME
Franklin, LA

November 18, 2011
12:57 PM

Post #8895855

I am not an expert, but I have been raising honey bees for about 15 years. From what you discribe, (honey gone and bees head first in cells are dead), it sounds like your bees starved to death. Sorry to hear that. Even thought it is not the middle of winter they seem to have starved.
MrPappyG
Glassboro, NJ

December 4, 2011
5:51 PM

Post #8916426

What first comes to mind, is the new GMO Pesticide from Monsanto/Round-Up, it appears there's a lot of research about a new Herbicide that is killing a lot of Honeybees in the US, especially on the East Coast. There are some links I'll try to find some for you.
Genepaul
Raymond, WA

January 17, 2012
5:06 PM

Post #8971923