Photo by Melody
Congratulations to all our photo contest participants! Check out the winning photos here. We will have the 2015 calendars available to order from Zazzle soon.

Sewing and Quilting: WHY?

Communities > Forums > Sewing and Quilting
bookmark
Forum: Sewing and QuiltingReplies: 9, Views: 87
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
janemarierose
Utica, NY
(Zone 4b)

November 9, 2011
3:37 PM

Post #8883475

Why...can't I iron my seams open on my quilt pieces? why must they go to one side or the other? How do you determine what side they should be iron towards? I have never done so much ironing before in my life as I have done on this disappear nine patch!! seams this way...seams that way...I was guessing the whole time...So do tell..if there is a secret to this mystery?!?

I'm a clothing sewer by trait so this tends to baffle me...

jmr

siliolegma

siliolegma
(Karen) Traverse Cit, MI
(Zone 5a)

November 9, 2011
6:03 PM

Post #8883765

Usually press to the darker fabric side, or when two seams meet, iron one each way.
I'm doing a D9P now too and there are so many seams you just have to hope most of them work out.
quilter_gal
(Elizabeth) DFW Area, TX

November 9, 2011
7:27 PM

Post #8883896

Hello janemarierose! :)

If you press your seams open, the threads in the seam might be put under too great a stress and result in torn fabric or broken threads.

When you press neatly to the side, there is no seam being strained and pulled open - by the weight of the quilt hanging over the bed, for instance. Or even more so, the weight of a wet quilt in the washing machine or dryer.

Quilting over the top of these seams that are pressed to the side reinforces that join and holds it firm.