Photo by Melody
Congratulations to all our photo contest participants! Check out the winning photos here. We will have the 2015 calendars available to order from Zazzle soon.

Beginner Vegetables: Blackberry and Raspberry plant care

Communities > Forums > Beginner Vegetables
bookmark
Forum: Beginner VegetablesReplies: 18, Views: 142
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
Bloomfly22
Palmdale, CA
(Zone 8a)

December 11, 2011
12:18 AM

Post #8924640

I just love fresh blackberries and raspberries on my strata! My only problem is how do i grow them? I own a blackberry plant but its my first year, what do I do?

Thumbnail by Bloomfly22
Click the image for an enlarged view.

quiltygirl
No Central, AZ
(Zone 7b)

December 30, 2011
8:38 AM

Post #8947599

First thing - do not let gardeners think it is a weed and do not let horses eat it. LOL, that is what happened to mine. I have another blackberry and boysenberry plant on the other side of the yard with a little short fence around them that are doing better, but did not bear fruit last year. The miniature pinschers like to dig under that little fence to go through to try to dig under the larger fence to get to the neighbor's yard! We work at trying to prevent that digging.

I sited you on the map and see you are close to the high desert, but are you even higher in elevation?
Bloomfly22
Palmdale, CA
(Zone 8a)

December 30, 2011
11:37 AM

Post #8947817

I believe I'm around 2,600. My blackberry plant had fruit on it when it was purchased earlier this year, I pulled the 3 berries off to help the plant establish itself better. Was this a good idea?

darius

darius
So.App.Mtns.
United States
(Zone 5b)

December 30, 2011
1:57 PM

Post #8948017

Probably. I find my raspberries and blackberries do just fine (and spread in their second year) without any attention from me. My original 6 plants now fill a space 8' x 20' and I dig up any runners that escape that area.
Bloomfly22
Palmdale, CA
(Zone 8a)

December 31, 2011
2:19 PM