Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Container Gardening: Thank you Al (tapla)

Communities > Forums > Container Gardening
bookmark
Forum: Container GardeningReplies: 14, Views: 248
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
1234dottie
Morgantown, WV

December 19, 2011
11:04 PM

Post #8936578

I am just a regular person who started to garden. I worked as a secretary for years so I am educated. Reading here all your info on dirt and your own recipe. At first it seems difficult getting everything. Once I found the bark I needed the rest was pretty easy. All my plants in the house this winter are doing wonderful.
This spring I have many, many pots to fill. By the way the cheaper self watering pots at Walmart has my plants doing wonderful. I just water at the bottom.
Just wanted to say thank you Al. For being willing to share your knowledge and time to help people you do not know.

tapla

tapla
Bay City, MI
(Zone 6a)

December 20, 2011
11:35 AM

Post #8937005

Thank YOU, Dottie - for taking the time to offer such kind words. As an avid bonsai practitioner, I'm perpetually unsatisfied with whatever the current status of my skillset might be, I'm always trying to learn more, in order that I might increase the satisfaction and sense of accomplishment I get from my container growing endeavors. Somewhere along the path, I discovered that I get an equal amount of satisfaction from nurturing people that nurture plants, as I do from nurturing plants - maybe even more when I find those as eager to improve as I.