AuthorContent
jojoe70
Thomson, GA
(Zone 8a)

December 20, 2011
12:42 PM

Post #8937052

Hello all,
I am a new newbie with my collection of hoya's.I have a H. carnosa 'Rubra' Krimson princess.I bought one labeled H. linearis an EA plant that turned out to be a Rhipsalis 'sulcata'.Not a good day!!!

I had to have surgery and the DH got me a Hoya from lowe's.It's an EA plant, labeled H.Bilobata and under that it had Hoya 'tsungii'.It's different than my carnosa,the leaves are thin and velvet feeling.The leaves almost feel brittle.I know there are a lot of different Hoya's,even succulent ones.The care varies from plan to plant.I can't find much about this one besides the fact that someone made a mistake naming it or something & you can find it under 3 names that I've found.I also found it being called DS-70.

All I need is care instructions,potting information,likes & dislikes,water,humidity needs ,light requirements etc...
If anyone will help me with this I will appreciate it greatly!!!! Have a lovely day.

Jo

Thumbnail by jojoe70
Click the image for an enlarged view.

jojoe70
Thomson, GA
(Zone 8a)

December 20, 2011
12:47 PM

Post #8937058

Here's another picture of it.The leaves are brittle or fragile feeling and the smallest break white sap drips every where, that's what I think the white spots are that's all over the leaves.The leaves also feel kind of like velvet.They're just thin and brittle feeling.

Thumbnail by jojoe70

mjsponies

mjsponies
DeLand/Deleon Spring, FL
(Zone 8b)

December 21, 2011
3:40 PM

Post #8938534

jojo,
they are "different' but very similar. There's alot of debate over Hoya names, and as they get more popular some vendors start attaching their own names to them. Best to always do your research before purchasing.
General rule, while most hoya's like to be grown a bit on the dry side, especially in winter, thin/small leaved ones will want more water than others. Also, while alot of Hoya's can take quite cool temps, some do not like at all.