I WANT FREE OR CHEAP EBOOKS

Northeast, AR(Zone 7a)

I just bought a tablet pc and I'm looking to download some ebooks to read on it when I'm sitting in the doc's office or anywhere I have to wait a while. I recently bought a bunch of paperbacks that take up a bunch of space. I'd rather store books on some tiny SD cards and carry them with me in my purse.

Where do y'all get your ebooks? I'm not wanting to pay over $2 a download. I can generally buy the paperbacks (fiction) for 50 cents to $2 used. Do you have any favorite websites you buy your ebooks from? Will you share them with me?

Thanks for any suggestions. I'm new to this new technology but I'm quickly becoming a fan.

NancyAnn

Dublin, CA(Zone 9a)

You can probably download a Kindle app/software for your tablet that'll let you read any books that are in Amazon's Kindle format. Many Kindle books you have to buy, but they also have a bunch of free ones and some for only a couple dollars.

Northeast, AR(Zone 7a)

Thanks, ecrane. I didn't know about downloading the Kindle app. As soon as my tablet arrives (tomorrow I hope!), I'll try to download it. I did manage to download a couple of books by one of my favorite authors. But the ones I can get free from the library are only "checked out" for two weeks. I guess after that they expire, so they're not permanently downloaded to my machine, just borrowed. I often read for pleasure when I'm sitting waiting somewhere. So it can take me a while to read a whole book, since I only read for a few minutes to two hours at a time.

My new tablet should come with some apps already installed, so that will be interesting. I have never worked with "apps" before...or if I have, we didn't call 'em "apps". So this is going to be a wonderful little adventure. Any insight from someone who has a tablet or an ipad would be great!

Dublin, CA(Zone 9a)