Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Beginner Flowers: My "Schefflera Gerda " is dying

Communities > Forums > Beginner Flowers
bookmark
Forum: Beginner FlowersReplies: 3, Views: 27
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
hamed_shk
dresden
Germany

December 31, 2011
6:39 AM

Post #8948702

Hi

I am a beginner started to keep some nice flowers in my house in Dresden, Germany. I have a "Schefflera Gerda" for some months. But, since a month ago its stem began from its lower end to get dry as you can see in the picture. Its leaves are falling gradully and it needs urgent heal in my idea. I would appreciate so much any helpful comments to revive my Schefflera.

Thanks in advance
Hamed

Thumbnail by hamed_shk
Click the image for an enlarged view.

ecrane3
Dublin, CA
(Zone 9a)

December 31, 2011
7:35 AM

Post #8948747

I would check your watering, these plants don't need a ton of water and overwatering is one of the most common ways to kill house plants.

themoonhowl

themoonhowl
Prairieville, LA
(Zone 9a)

January 2, 2012
3:57 PM

Post #8951911

I agree with e-crane. Also check for drafts. Drafts of cold air from a door or window, or hot dry drafts from a heating system can cause leaf drop.
WeeNel
Ayrshire Scotland
United Kingdom

January 5, 2012
8:40 PM

Post #8956218

I agree with the others re watering, best to stick your finger into the soil and if it feels dry give some water if wet / damp then leave alone.