Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Beginner Vegetables: Grow Bag Soil

Communities > Forums > Beginner Vegetables
bookmark
Forum: Beginner VegetablesReplies: 12, Views: 152
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
lindaboom
New Harmony, UT
(Zone 5b)

January 21, 2012
10:31 AM

Post #8976556

Hi - I'm new to veggie gardening and plan to grow tomatoes and peppers in 10 gal. grow bags. I realize this question may lead to a zillion answers but I'll ask anyway. What is the preferred growing medium to use in the grow bags?

I'll be eternally greatful for all answers!!!
Linda

Gymgirl

Gymgirl
SE Houston (Hobby), TX
(Zone 9a)

January 21, 2012
5:34 PM

Post #8977021

Recommendation is to use Potting MIX. Not potting soil. Mix is for containers -- soil is for in-ground or raised beds...

I use MG Potting Mix (without the moisture retention crystals...).

How many are you planning on using, and what type of tomatoes are you growing?

Linda
lindaboom
New Harmony, UT
(Zone 5b)

January 22, 2012
8:29 AM

Post #8977534

Hi Gymgirl,
I'm planning on using six grow bags. Three for cherry tomato 'sun gold' and three for sweet pepper 'gypsy'. This is my first try and so I'm taking my entry into veggie gardening slowly.
Thanks for your help,
Linda
mom2goldens
Carmel, IN
(Zone 5b)

January 22, 2012
4:47 PM

Post #8978138

Linda, I second Gymgirl's recommendation. You do NOT want to use anything that has soil in it...container mix must be very light and allow for good root growth, without getting compacted. I've used Miracle Grow, Metro-Mix, and Pro-Mix. Miracle Grow is usually readily available (again, without the moisture crystals) and is fairly inexpensive compared to some of the other brands.
lindaboom
New Harmony, UT
(Zone 5b)

January 22, 2012
4:56 PM

Post #8978147